8 APC govs working to ‘kill’ new election sequence – Secondus

Written by on March 15, 2018

Eight governors elected on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) are trying to influence the National Assembly not to override President Muhammadu Buhari’s rejection of the Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill 2018, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has said.

The PDP National Chairman, Prince Uche Secondus, made the allegation yesterday while addressing ‎the party’s youth leaders across the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), who visited the party’s national secretariat in Abuja.

However, Secondus did not mention the names of any of the eight APC governors working to “kill” the new bill seeking to reorder election sequence.
“I watched on the television where they said government vetoed the Electoral Act because it infringed on the right of INEC to conduct elections. Have you ever heard this before?
“Who is INEC? Is INEC above the law? Is it not the National Assembly that makes laws that govern INEC? Why are they afraid of the amendment? We want to assure Nigerians that the APC government cannot rig this election.
“Eight governors of the APC have been constituted to begin to move from door to door of members of the National Assembly to cage them not to freely make laws for Nigeria.
“We reject that move and we insist that the will of Nigerians must be done. The will of Nigerians must prevail. The APC is planning to rig the elections and INEC is a parastatal of APC,” he said.
The National Assembly needs a 2/3rd majority to override the president.

Credits: Daily Trust

Tagged as

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Current track