COED Ilorin: 13 Jostle For Provost

Written by on March 22, 2018

No fewer than 13 candidates are scrambling to become the next provost of Kwara State College of Education, Ilorin. The tenure of the current Provost of the college, Dr Saka Opobiyi will expire in April, this year. Initially, 15 academics were on the race yearning to succeed Opobiyi before the number was pruned down to 13 by a five- man selection board as specified by the College edict. The oral and written interview for the final selection by the five-man panel took place last week. It was gathered that four of the applicants are academic staff of the college, while the remaining nine are lecturers from other institutions. Among those warming up to succeed the outgoing provost from within the college are Opobiyi’s deputy (administration), Dr. Mukaila Bola Taiwo, Dean School of Basic and Remedial Studies, Dr. (Mrs.) Nimota Ojibara, Deans School of Science, Mr. Bolakale Adebimpe and Director, Computer Information Technology Centre (CITC), Mr. Jimoh Ahmed Ayinla. Some of the contenders from the University of Ilorin and the Kwara State University (KWASU) are Dr Abubakar Laaro from KWASU, the immediate past subdean, UNILORIN, Dr. Abdulkareem Yusuf, Dr (Mrs.) Dosumu and Dr Abdulmalik. It was gathered some people are rooting for another term office for Dr Opobiyi, but that is the prerogative of the state governor, Abdulfatah Ahmed. However, the College of Education Ilorin, Law 2013 precludes the outgoing provost from a second tenure in office. According to the law signed by Governor Ahmed “the provost shall be appointed by the governor from among three persons recommended by a joint committee of the council and Academic Board and shall hold office for a term of five years only, which shall be non-renewable.”

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *