FG releases fresh 23 names of alleged looters

Written by on April 2, 2018

The Federal Government on Sunday released a fresh list containing 23 names of alleged looters.

It said the list of alleged looters which it released on Friday was based on verifiable facts, including the amount involved, the date the amount was collected and from where it was taken.

The names released on Friday were the National Chairman of the PDP, Uche Secondus, who allegedly collected N200m from the office of the former National Security Adviser.

Secondus had, however, denied the allegation and gave Mohammed 72 hours to retract the statement and also pay him N1.5b as damages.

Others included a former PDP Financial Secretary (N600m).

The rest were a former PDP National Publicity Secretary, Olisah Metuh, who is on trial for allegedly collecting N1.4b from NSA office; Dr. Raymond Dokpesi, who is on trial for taking N2.1bn from NSA; and a former SSA to President Jonathan, Dudafa Waripamo-Owei, who is on trial over N830m kept in accounts of four different companies

The last was former President Jonathan’s Cousin, Robert Azibaola, who was said to have collected $40m from NSA office.

While releasing a fresh list of alleged looters in Lagos on Sunday, the Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, in a statement said the Friday’s list “was strategically released as a teaser.”

He said, ‘’At the press conference where the list was released, I did say it was a tip of the iceberg… the Federal Government has a large number of alleged looters on its list.”

The minister said the PDP’s reaction to the looters’ list has shown that its recent apology was an election-induced act, to deceive unsuspecting Nigerians to vote for the party in the 2019 general elections.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *