I remain PDP Kwara South senatorial candidate, Rafiu insists

Written by on January 23, 2019

Senator Rafiu Adebayo Ibrahim has insisted that he remains the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP for the Kwara South senatorial district election despite counter claims by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The lawmaker said this on Tuesday while addressing party members and supporters in Ilemona, headquarters of Oyun local government area where he hails from.

He explained that INEC erroneously published the name of Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed as the PDP Kwara South senatorial candidate, noting that the governor had voluntarily withdrawn from the race.

Senator Rafiu asked party members and his supporters not to entertain any fear, stressing that the mistake will soon be corrected by the electoral body.

He also used the opportunity to once again appreciate Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed for acceding to the request by Ibolo leaders on ceding the party’s Kwara south senatorial ticket to Ibolo axis of the zone.

The lawmaker also thanked the Senate President and national leader of the PDP, Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki and the party leadership in Kwara for their support and encouragement.

Speaking further, Dr Rafiu asked the people of Oyun and Kwara in general to vote the PDP at all levels.

He emphasized the need for Kwarans to vote Alhaji Atiku Abubakar as Nigeria’s next president, saying that his (Atiku) administration would be of immense benefits to Kwara and Nigeria at large.

Top members of the PDP who were at the LG party meeting include the Oyun local government and ALGON chairman, Hon Joshua Omokanye, Oyun PDP chairman, Alhaji Degomina, House of Assembly member, Hon. Sikirat Anako, Commissioner for Youth and Sports Development who is also the PDP State Assembly candidate for Odo-Ogun, Hon. Muideen Alalade, his counterpart for Oke-Ogun, Alhaji Tijani Olaegbe among other party leaders and elders in Oyun LGA.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Current track