Oke-Ero APC elders, youths in Kwara kick against constitution of 80-man transition committee

Written by on April 4, 2019

Some elders and youths of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oke-Ero Lcal Government in Kwara have kicked against the 80 man transition committee named by the governor-elect of Kwara, Mr Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq.

Mr Dele Aworinde, leader of the elders and Femi David, the youth leader, both indigenes of Oke-Ero in Kwara made the call on Thursday in Abuja in a joint statement.

They particularly condemned the inclusion of only two names from Oke-Ero in the 80-man committee, saying local government was grossly short-changed by this action.

They observed that one of the names on the list, Rev. Bunmi Olusona did not deserve being in the committee as he did not participate during the electioneering campaign “and was nowhere near the local government during the period.’’

The indigenes said that while other local governments in the state got as many as four, five, even as much as18, only three of the local governments of Oke-Ero, Kiama and Isin got two representatives each.

According to them, this amounted to injustice, suggestive of the alienation that will soon be witnessed by Oke-Ero when the governor resumed in May 29.

They said that Oke-Ero Local Government had always been at the receiving end with such injustice, adding that it was unfortunate that the new government was already toeing similar path.

“In the Constitution of the APC executive in the state, the party only managed to give us assistant legal adviser.

“All attempts to draw the attention of the party leaders to this injustice has remained unsuccessful, they only told us they are going to address the situation to no avail.’’

They said that the party should desist from seeing the local government as an appendage of Ekiti Local Government, stressing that the two local governments were equal partners.

They said that the Oke-Ero Local Government had been short-changed in term of elective representatives because they had not produced any governor, senator or house of representative since it was created.

They said that the only elective position Oke-Ero produced was the constitutionally guaranteed state house of assembly member.

The Kwara State Governor-elect, on Wednesday announced an 80-member Transition Committee (TC).

Aminu Adisa Logun was announced as chairman of the 80-member transition committee with Chief James Bamisaiye Ayeni as the Deputy Chairman.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *